British Universities Film & Video Council

moving image and sound, knowledge and access

Emergency Commons debate following Falklands invasion

Emergency Commons debate following Falklands invasion
Speech; Parliamentary debate
TX Date
Year of production
Play audio
To listen to the audio files, please log in.
Part of the emergency House of Commons debate on 3 April 1982 called to discuss the invasion of the Falkland Islands by Argentina the previous day, and following Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher’s announcement that a Task Force is being assembled to retake the islands and return them to British sovereignty. Speakers include David Owen, Julian Amery?, Ted Rowlands, Patrick Cormack, Arthur Bottomley, Ray Whitney, Frederick Burden, Alan Clark, John Biggs-Davison, Russell Johnston , John Eden, Donald Stewart, Peter Emery, Douglas Jay, Bernard Braine and George Foulkes. Also Speaker of the House of Commons, George Thomas.
George Thomas; David Owen; Douglas Jay; George Foulkes; John Biggs-Davison; Patrick Cormack; Ray Whitney; Donald Stewart; Ted Rowlands; Arthur Bottomley; Russell Johnston; Bernard Braine; Peter Emery; Frederick Burden; Julian Amery?; John Eden; Alan Clark (MP)
Politics; Armed forces; Margaret Thatcher; Great Britain; Military affairs; Foreign policy; Falklands War (1982); Argentina; Falkland Islands; Sovereignty; Wars (events)

Record Stats

This record has been viewed 420 times.