British Universities Film & Video Council

moving image and sound, knowledge and access

New Year Honours list published

New Year Honours list published
News report; Interview
TX Date
31 Dec 1993
Year of production
Play audio
To listen to the audio files, please log in.
Clayre Gribben reports on the publication of the New Year Honours list, the first with some nominations made by the public for ordinary people. The recipients include Shirley Bassey, singer; Derek Jacobi, actor; Bob Scott, Olympics organiser; Nat Lofthouse, footballer; Karen Smithies, cricketer; Chrissie Maher, founder of Plain English Campaign; Ian Vallance, BT; Michael Rose, SAS; Jack Rosenthal, playwright; Howard Blake, composer; Janet Baker, opera singer. Includes interviews with further recipients: Donald Pleasence, actor; David Bellamy, environmentalist; John Gibbon, carer; Gary Mabbutt, footballer; Gavin Hastings, rugby player; Rebecca Stephens, mountaineer.
David Bellamy; Gary Mabbutt; Clayre Gribben; Rebecca Stephens; Donald Pleasence; John Gibbon; Gavin Hastings
Awards; London; Honours; Derek Jacobi; Buckingham Palace; Shirley Bassey; David Bellamy; Ian Vallance; Rebecca Stephens; Bob Scott; Nat Lofthouse; Karen Smithies; Chrissie Maher; Michael Rose; Jack Rosenthal; Howard Blake; Janet Baker; Donald Pleasence; John Gibbon; Gary Mabbutt; Gavin Hastings

Record Stats

This record has been viewed 349 times.